Article published on 27 November 2023
last modification on 9 February 2024

The Berlin convention of 1885 recognizes Germany’s rights over the coastal region stretching from the Gold Coast to Dahomey. German conquests continue northwards until 1891.

In 1914, a brief war conducted by French and British troops puts an end to German occupation.

In 1919, the Society of Nations divides the country into two parts, the West being confided to the British, the East to the French. From 1946, "French Togo" becomes an "associated" territory. It is chosen to be the "test nation" for the application of the blueprint law of 1956 and it becomes an autonomous Republic.

Independence is acquired in April 1960. The British part of the territory is united with the Gold Coast which became Ghana in 1957.